Cowgirls Fall to Seminole State on Late Free Throw, 64-63

SEMINOLE---Connors State had a 13-point second quarter lead evaporate in the final half as the Cowgirls fell to Seminole State 64-63 for an Oklahoma Collegiate Athletic Conference victory when the Belles' Hannah Ash drained the backend of a two shot foul with three-tenths of a second remaining in the game.

Connors falls to 13-7 on the year and 5-3 in OCAC play heading into a home contest with league leading Northern Oklahoma-Enid Thursday night. Tip-0ff is 5:30 p.m. Seminole improved to 13-6 and 5-3.

"We went away from our game plan," said head coach Jamie Fisher."We made them play our game the first half but the second half we quit getting the ball inside.

"We got complacent and they started knowing down shots from the outside," said Fisher.

Trailing 61-59 with 1:20 left in the game, the Cowgirls fell behind 63-59 at the 1:09 mark and then cut the Belles' lead to three on a free throw by Shaniqua Patterson.

Cowgirls' Vicky Duru scored to make it 62-63 with 28 seconds remaining.

Tateum Jones tied it at 63 all with nine-seconds left when she hit one-of-two free throws. On the missed charity the result was a tie-up with 5.9 ticks left with the ball going to Connors.

However, the Cowgirls could not get the ball inbounds and Seminole set up a play. Connors' Cheyenne Marshall fouled

Ash setting the stage for the Belles' victory.

Patterson and Duru led the Cowgirls scoring with 16 points each. T'Shandes Ainsworth led the Belles' with 12.

Cowgirls were deadly from behind the arc the opening 20 minutes of action draining four treys with Marshall connecting on three as Connors held a 30-23 lead at the intermission.

Connors largest lead of the half was 13, 30-17 with 2:32 left in the first half. The Belles then went on a 6-0 run to slice the Cowgirls lead to seven at the half.


Connors State 16 14 16 15—63

Seminole State 13 10 16 15—64

 Connors State (13-7, 5-3) –Duru 16, Patterson 16, Marshall 11, Motley 8, K Wright 6, T. Jones 6,

Seminole State (13-6, 5-3)—Ainsworth 12, Quarles 11, Richardson 9, Ash 9, Grover 9, Jones 8, Clarke 6.