Cowgirls Rally to Dump Eastern State in OCAC Play 73-61

Cowgirls Rally to Dump Eastern State in OCAC Play 73-61



WARNER—Connors State Cowgirls never led in the first half against visiting Eastern Oklahoma State, but caught fire  offensively in the  final two quarters to post a 73-61 Oklahoma Collegiate Athletic Conference win at Melvin Self Field House.

The win lifted the Cowgirls to 14-9 on the year and 6-5 in league play. Eastern falls to 6-18 overall and remains winless in conference play at 0-11.

Cowgirls will next take on Redlands Community College Thursday night on the road. Tip-off is 5:30 p.m.

"Last time we played them (Eastern) we didn't press them the whole game like we should have," said Cowgirls head coach Jamie Fisher. "Tonight we did a great job of changing the tempo defensively and kept them out of game with our defensive pressure.

"In the second half we just wore them out with hard nose play."     

Trailing 39-35 with 5:50 remaining in the game, the contest took an unusual twist.

Eastern was issued a technical foul when a player on their squad was not listed in the scorebook (Eneily Rodriquez).

Shaniqua Patterson, who led the Cowgirls in scoring with 22, scored just moments before the technical scored and was fouled on her shot. She drained the free throw to give Connors its first lead of the night 40-39.

Cowgirls' Cheyenne Marshall, who followed Patterson in the scoring with 14, then drained the two-shot technical.

"That was an unfortunate incident and I feel really bad for them," said Fisher.

"We then made that big run (15-4) and put it away."

Connors never trailed the remainder of the contest as they stretched their lead to 15 points, 73-58 with 1:36 remaining.

K'neship Bush led the Eastern scoring with 18 points with Britnee Gabriel adding another 17 in the loss.



Eastern State 15 17 14 15--61

Connors State 7 21 22 23--73

Eastern State (6-18, 0-11)--Bush 18, Gabriel 17, Butler 9, Paton 8, Delcid- Rosado 4, Rodriquez 4, Crutchfield 1.

Connors State (14-9, 6-5)--Patterson 22, Marshall 14, Duru 9, Webster 8, L. Wright 7, Ka. Wright 6, T. Jones 6, Motley 1.