Cowgirls Drop Arch-Rival NEO in Double Overtime, 86-83

Lauren Wright
Lauren Wright

WARNER---Connors State Coach Jamie Fisher calling it a "total team victory," the Cowgirls captured a stunning 86-83 double overtime victory against arch-rival Northeastern A&M at Melvin Self Field House

The win improves the Cowgirls record to 17-2 on the year and 4-1 in Oklahoma Collegiate Athletic Conference play. The Lady Norse fall to 8-6 on the year and 3-1 in league action.

The Cowgirls now go on the road to play 19th-ranked Northern Oklahoma-Enid Thursday. It will be a battle for the second place in the OCAC.

Lauren Wright  lead the scoring attack for the Cowgirls with 23 points as the two clubs were deadlock at the end of regulation at 61-all.  Cheyanne Crain's shot at the buzzer was blocked.

In the first overtime the Cowgirls led 73-70 with seven ticks left on the clock.  NEO tied it at 73-all on a 3-point shot by Koreea Kirkey with seven-tenths remaining.

The second overtime it was a back-and-forth battle with CSC leading 83-79 with 1:50 left.

Lady Norse made it 83-81 on a 3-point shot by Iyvann Arango Murille and then she converted 1-of -2 at the free throw line, slicing the Connors lead to 83-82.

Cowgirls' Crain then drained two free throws with 14 seconds left and an 85-82 CSC lead.

 Following a missed 3-point attempt by NEO, Tateum Jones, was fouled with two seconds left, converting 1-of-2 attempts to secure the victory.

Following Wright in the Connors scoring was Jasmyn Taylor with 18 points with T Jones and De'Asia Reid scoring 10 points each.

NEO jumped out to a 20-4 lead after the first quarter and at one time held a 16-1 advantage in the opening period.

However, the Cowgirls came roaring back in the second quarter outscoring the Lady Norse 22-12, slicing the NEO lead to six points 32-26 at the half..




Northeastern A&M 20  12 14  15 9--82

Connors State 4  22 13  22 12  13--86

Northeastern A&M (8-6, 3-1)—Kirksey 28, Murillo19. Skbetakova 16, Brooks 11, Diop 4, Chivata 3, Benge 1.

Connors State (17-2, 4-1)— L. Wright 23. J Taylor 18, T. Jones 10, Reid 10,

Crain 6, Gonzalez 6, Ka Wright 5, Livers 5, McCallister 3.